Associate Judge J. Jerry Kane swept all 22 precincts en route to a lopsided victory in Tuesday night’s general election over challenger Betsy Shaulis for resident circuit judge in Carroll County.

Kane, a Republican, collected 5,849 votes (73.87%) to easily outdistance his Democrat opponent Shaulis, a Lanark attorney, who totaled 2,069 votes (26.13%).

Kane, of Lake Carroll, will succeed veteran Circuit Judge Val Gunnarsson of Savanna who is retiring at the end of November.

Kane’s replacement as associate judge will be selected by the eight circuit judges in the 15th Judicial Circuit after they have interviewed applicants for the position.

Voters in Carroll County cast a total of 8,078 ballots for an overall turnout of 77.49%. There are 10,424 registered voters in the county.

71st State Rep. Tony McCombie (R-Savanna) handily defeated Joan Padilla of Sterling to win re-election to the Illinois House of Representatives.

McCombie collected 25,848 votes (65%) to Padilla’s 13,696 votes (35%). McCombie beat Padilla in 2018 with 59% of the vote, winning by 7,065 votes.

McCombie, former mayor of Savanna, was first elected 71st state representative in 2016 when she collected 63% of the vote to defeat incumbent Mike Smiddy.

Incumbent Joseph Payette (1,904 votes) along with Keith Vandermyde (1,546 votes), both Republicans, were elected to the Carroll County Board from District 3. Richard “Rick” Cass, a Democrat, received 935 votes and was defeated.

Carroll County voters favored Republican Esther Joy King over Democratic incumbent 17th District U.S. Rep. Cheri Bustos 4,675-3,290, but Bustos held on districtwide to win re-election by just under 10,000 votes.

Voters in Carroll County also favored President Donald Trump over Democratic challenger and former Vice President Joe Biden 5,098-2737. A winner has not been determined as of Thursday in the hotly contested race.

Republican challenger Mark Curran Jr. also was favored by county voters over Democratic incumbent U.S. Sen. Richard “Dick” Durbin 4,834-2,827, but Durbin won re-election statewide.

Carroll County officeholders re-elected without opposition were State’s Attorney Scott Brinkmeier (7,089 votes), Circuit Clerk Patricia Hiher (7,094 votes) and Coroner Matthew Jones (7,224 votes). All are Republicans.

Sheriff Ryan Kloepping was elected to a two-year unexpired term. He was appointed to the position earlier this year after Sheriff Jeff Doran resigned. Kloepping, who was unopposed, received 7,185 votes.

Elected to the Carroll County Board from District 1 were unopposed Republican incumbents Paul Hartman (1,779 votes) and Kevin Reibel (1,424 votes).

Elected to the Carroll County Board from District 2 were Democratic incumbent Ronald Preston (1,134) and Republican newcomer Robert Hartman (1,961). Both were unopposed.

89th State Rep. Andrew Chesney (R-Freeport) received 4,439 votes in Carroll County. Independent candidate John Cook had 947 votes.

Carroll County voters also rejected by a 5,550-2,108 margin a constitutional amendment that would have paved the way for Illinois to move from a flat tax rate to a graduated tax rate. The proposal was defeated statewide. It needed at least 60% yes votes to be approved.