Carroll County’s current state’s attorney and assistant state’s attorney, the current public defender and a former state’s attorney candidate are among the eight applicants for an associate judge vacancy.

The list of applicants was announced Tuesday morning, Dec. 22. The deadline to apply was Monday, Dec. 21.

The vacancy for associate judge of the 15th Judicial Circuit was created when former Associate Judge Jerry Kane was elected Carroll County resident circuit judge on Nov. 3, succeeding Judge Val Gunnarsson who retired.

The 15th Judicial Circuit is comprised of the counties of Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle and Stephenson. The associate judge must reside in the district.

Associate judge applicants include:

Carroll County State’s Attorney Scott Brinkmeier, Assistant State’s Attorney Aaron Kaney, Public Defender David Brown, former state’s attorney candidate Michelle Buckwalter-Shurman, Anthony Coon, Anthony Peska, Ronald Hennings and Byron Sloan.

Persons having knowledge of the candidates are invited to comment about any candidate. Comments should be in writing and sent to: Hon. Robert T. Hanson, Chief Judge, 106 S. 5th St., Suite 306A, Oregon, IL 61061, or email to

All comments should be received no later than Jan. 20. Anonymous comments will not be considered by the eight circuit judges who will be voting on the candidates.