WCHS has State Scholars

West Carroll High School seniors, from left, Olivia Shelly, Aubrey Charles and Kendal Asay, all of Mount Carroll, have been named 2023-24 Illinois State Scholars.

Three West Carroll High School seniors have been named 2023-24 Illinois State Scholars. They are:

Kendal Asay, daughter of Brent and Jenny Asay; Aubrey Charles, daughter of Terry and Christy Charles; and Olivia Shelly, daughter of Ryan and Laura Shelly. All are from Mount Carroll.

They are three of 16,770 students from 690 high schools in the state selected by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) for this prestigious honor.

These high-achieving students are selected annually based on their ACT or SAT exams combined and sixth semester class rank and are recognized for their exceptional academic achievement. The scholars rank in approximately the top 10 percent of graduates from Illinois high schools.

"On behalf of ISAC, congratulations to all of the outstanding students selected as 2023-24 Illinois State Scholars," said ISAC Executive Director Eric Zarnikow.

The Illinois State Scholar designation is a non-monetary award. Each State Scholar will receive a congratulatory letter and Certificate of Achievement from ISAC.

Awardees can download an official Illinois State Scholar badge to display on their online profiles and social media platforms, as well as share with their high school counselors, colleges, employers, family members and others.

“Students and families faced numerous challenges over the last two years with remote learning, among other financial and personal difficulties,” said Zarnikow.

“As we continue to recover from the pandemic, these academic achievements are a credit to the hard work and dedication of the student schools and their families, and to the support provided by teachers, mentors, counselors, and communities in helping students meet their goals as they advance on their education and career paths.”