Dear Editor:

It's with deep regret that the Northwest Illinois Sports Hall of Fame Committee announces the official cancellation of the "Jim Shaw All-Star Basketball Games."

The longstanding event is supported by the Northwest Illinois Sports Hall of Fame and Elkay Manufacturing. 2020 was to be the 23rd installment of this event which allowed senior standouts from 19 area towns to participate in one final basketball game.

Eastland Junior-Senior High School had hosted all but one of the games, which are currently organized by Nicole Brinker, Scott Hartman and Brian Reusch.

Originally called the "Shoot the Bull" All-Star Games, the games were renamed in 2007 for the late James "Jim" Shaw, who was a longtime business owner in Carroll County.

Since the seniors of 2020 lost many opportunities to make memories in athletic competition, we felt it only right to recognize them in some way, despite not being able to hold the All-Star Games. We have compiled rosters and will present a plaque to each team member.

Boys South Squad

West Carroll—Michael Popkin, Derek Tracy.

Eastland—Lane Christians, Carson Clouse, Brock Coatney, Braydin Preston.

Milledgeville—Christian Shores.

Forreston—Riley Cornelius, Kolten Dorty.

Fulton—Bradlee Damhoff.

Morrison—Nathan Mickley.

Girls South Squad

Eastland—Lydia Coatney, Erin Henze, Meredith Janssen.

Milledgeville—Sam Hartman.

Fulton—Emily Schipper.

Morrison—Grace Steines.

Forreston—Megan Hagermann, Alexus Houston, Brycelynn, Smith.

Boys North Squad

River Ridge—Andrew Merkle, Tayden Patterson.

Pearl City—Zander Endress.

Stockton—Cody Schultz.

LeWin—Isaiah Bruce, Sam Ormiston.

Warren—Ethan Williams.

Scales Mound—Tyler Allen.

Galena—Chance Wills.

East Dubuque—Trey Culbertson, Zach Schulting.

Girls North Squad

Stockton—Elizabeth Eisfeller.

River Ridge-Scales Mound—Claire Wienan.

Pearl City—Kayla Runkle.

LeWin—Madi Schultz.

Warren—Jessica Griffin.

Galena—Mackenzie Muehleip, Sami Wasmund.

East Dubuque—Paige Middendorf.

South squad coaches are Nicole Brinker of Eastland (girls) and R.J. Coffey of Fulton (boys). North squad coaches are Jamie Watson of Galena (girls) and Kyle Benson of LeWin (boys).

Brian Reusch


Northwest Illinois Sports

Hall of Fame Committee